LQBA State Championship Results


28 teams competed in the LQBA’s inaugural state championship tournament on March 25 on the LSU campus in Baton Rouge. The teams competed in two divisions, I and II, according to school size. 35 volunteers facilitated the event which included 4 morning rounds, a pizza lunch provided by LQBA, and 3 afternoon rounds to finally determine the top 3 finishers in each division. At the conclusion, those six championship teams as well as the top 6 single players in each division, were recognized with trophies and medallions.

In division I, Jesuit finished first with a perfect 7-0 record. Caddo Magnet finished second at 6-1, while Baton Rouge Magnet finished third at 5-2.

In division II, St. Martin’s Episcopal finished first at 7-0. Episcopal School of Acadiana finished second at 6-1. Pope John Paul II High School finished third.

The top scorer in division I was Mason Guillot (Baton Rouge Magnet) followed by Caleb Rogers (Jesuit), Gabe Hohensee (Vandebilt Catholic), Winston Ardoin (E.D. White), Eddie Redmann (Jesuit), and Francisco Guzman (Captain Shreve).

The top scorer in division II was Bryce Monier (St. Martin’s) followed by Sam Hebert (ESA), Jonathan Francis (LSU Lab), Eric Bynog (North Caddo), Beau Geaudreaux (Archbishop Hannan), Jimmy Lloyd (Pope John Paul II), and Kate Dickson (St. Mary’s).

Full statistics are available at NAQT’s website.

Congratulations to everyone who competed, and we hope to see all of you next year at Quiz Bowl tournaments across the state. Plans are already under way for LQBA’s 2018 state competition.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *